Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 5547 Syracuse, NE        

Patriots' Day Run 

5th Annual Patriots' Day Run, Saturday, September 12, 2015 

Patriots' Day Run is a fundraiser for VFW Post 5547 were 75% of the proceeds benefit the VFW National Home for Children. A place where military families can go when they need assistance. Need is tailored to each individual family needs. It is not a a one fits all type of assistance. In campus in Eaton Rapids resembles a small town with schools and medical center and homes. While there they provide to the military person or their family the direct assistance needed. For more information go to

Memorial Awards Divisions:

Memorial Award Divisions - Discounted entry fees available to: Military  (Military Class) (Any person that has a valid ID issued from any US Military Command is eligible: All Military members: Active, Reserve, Guard, Family members and Retired).  Law Enforcement-Corrections  (Law & Order Class) and Fire Fighters/EMS personnel (Fire Fighter/EMS Class).  Verification of ID's will take place at the registration tables, so please have ID available. 

Military Award Named for SFC Scott Nisely US. Army, who was killed during combat operations in Iraq on September 30, 2006

Law & Order Award Named for Deputy Sheriff  Howard McCallum, Otoe County Sheriff Department killed by gunfire November 12, 1930

Fire Fighter/EMS Award Named for Andrew Kastens, Syracuse Volunteer Fire Department Chief, killed en route to a fire October 18, 1939. 

Joint Meritorious Unit Award (optional - team discounts available) for the largest group participant (overall) will be presented to any organization, group or club as long as each member gives the name of his/her organization on the line provided on the entry form.  Please be sure to include the name of your team captain (if applicable) on the line provided on the entry form.  This award will be presented to the winning group during the award ceremony on Saturday. Those competing for this award are also able to win individual awards. 




Lodging Options Available; Use "Patriots' Day Run" when booking the room.  
Syracuse Inn & Suites, COST TBD, 1 to 4 person occupancy, phone (402) 269-2700

 PATRIOTS' DAY RUN 2015  was held on Saturday, September 12, 2015

A recap of the 5th Annual "Patriots' Day Run". We had 40 runners registered.  Both 10K and 5K courses were a patriotic scenic tour of Syracuse, Nebraska.  The 10K Overall Winner was Craig Halverson.  The 5K Overall Winner was Jason Pearson for the fourth year in a row.

Saturday morning the participants enjoyed post run food and drink of Brats & Beer/Soda at the Veterans Post Home. Awards and Post run activities were attended by participants, family, friends and the community.


AGE BRACKET FINISHERS                                                                                                                         

Memorial Award Division Winners 10K  
Scott Nisely Memorial Award 
(Military Division)
Richard Friedrichsen Time: 52:39                                          

oward McCallum Memorial Award (Law & Order Division)
No Participant                      

ndrew Kastens Memorial Award (Fire Fighter/EMS Division) 
Tyler Crownover   Time: 1:00:48

Memorial Award Division Winners 5K

Scott Nisely Memorial Award (Military Division)
Joseph Knoer Time: 21:43

Howard Mc
Callum Memorial Award (Law & Order Division)
No Participants             

Andrew Kastens Memorial Award (Fire Fighter/EMS Division)
Sheryl Gaston Time: 26:16 

Joint Meritorious Unit Award
; awarded to the largest group participant for total overall participation of combined from entries of the 10K and 5K distances. This is a group award; however each member competes as individuals for time and awards. The winning team's captain is presented the award. The 2015 Joint Meritorious Unit Award was presented to Kurt Knake and the VFW Warriors. Team consisted of Kathy Knake, Jamie Thoms, Tim Christians, Tyler Crownover. 


Patriots' Day Run 10K All Time Top Ten

      Name            Gender   Division                                                                             Time           Year
1. Eddie Paden       M       Open                                                                                 40:03.2       2014
2. Scott Johnson     M      Open                                                                           40:14.9       2012
3. Ky'Lee Baumert   F      Open                                                                                 41:22.9     2013
4. Larry Jones          M       Open                                                                                41:33.9       2013
5. Ky'Lee Baumert   F        Open                                                                                42:16.5      2014
6. Eddie Paden        M       Open                                                                                42:24          2011
7. Eddie Paden        M       Open                 42:50.5       2012
8. Eddie Paden        M       Open                                                                                44:11.4       2013
9. Leah Sveen          F         Open                                                                                44:13.5       2014
10. Jon Reed            M       Military (Nisely Memorial Award Winner)              45:07          2011

Patriots' Day Run 5K All Time Top Ten  
      Name           Gender    Division                                                                              Time           Year
1. Jason Pearson   M        Open                                                                                  18:18.0        2014
2.Jason Pearson    M        Open                                                                                  18:41.1        2015
3. Jason Pearson   M        Open                                                                                  18:56.1        2013
4. Bob Garcia         M        Open                                                                                  19:03.0        2013
5. Jason Pearson   M        Open                                                                                  19:25.0        2012
6. Mark White       M        Law & Order(McCallum Memorial Award Winner) 19:33.2        2012
7. Wes Pohlmann  M        Open                                                                                 20:47.8        2013 
8. Jason Keith        M        Open                                                                                  20:55.6        2013
9. Wes Pohlmann M        Open                                                                                  21:06.5        2015
10. Joseph Knoer  M        Military (Nisely Memorial Award Winner)                21:43.7        2015

Website Builder